top of page

Edabit Java: Sum 0f v0w3ls, Hard Difficulty


Solving this question in edabit: https://edabit.com/challenge/7cugwZK74ciMmFqHe using the Strong.toLowerCase and then a for loop that adds up the vowels to get the answer!

  • The question didn't feel that hard, so not sure why hard difficulty

  • I'm wondering how I can do more difficult questions. I think that I am going sideways with how things are going. I need more challenges


Question:


Answer:



public class VowelSummation {

public static int sumOfVowels(String str) {

int count = 0;

String newStr = str.toLowerCase();

for(int i = 0; i < newStr.length(); i++) {

if(newStr.charAt(i) == 'a')

count += 4;

if(newStr.charAt(i) == 'e')

count += 3;

if(newStr.charAt(i) == 'i')

count += 1;

}

return count;

}

}


2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page